High-level International Investment Agreements (IIA) Conference 2018

High-level International Investment Agreements (IIA) Conference 2018

Going beyond IIAs: Fostering Coherence through Phase 3 of Reform

Mobilizing investment and channelling it towards the SDGs require adequate policy frameworks, at both the international and national levels, and in the investment and other policy fields. Countries have been working on reforming their international investment treaty networks. But there is also a need to consider national investment laws reform and ensure that investment policies are coherent with and supportive of other public policies. These challenges are taken up in Phase 3 of IIA Reform. Based on UNCTAD’s Reform Package for the International Investment Regime (2017), the 2018 IIA Conference will take stock of Phases 1 and 2 of IIA Reform and chart the way forward for the third phase of reform.

Issues for the debate:

  • What progress has been made on different reform areas and the modernization of old-generation treaties?
  • What are countries’ priorities for the third phase of reform?
  • What can be done to improve overall investment policy coherence?
Outcome documents

Background materials:

Newly launched:


Past High-level IIA conferences:

Event Manager: Ms. Elisabeth Tuerk
Contact email: elisabeth.tuerk@unctad.org

IIA-related Break-out Sessions

Tuesday, 23 October 2018

Wednesday, 24 October 2018

Thursday, 25 October 2018

Friday, 26 October 2018

The break-out sessions are organized under the sole responsibility of the above-mentioned organizers. The UNCTAD secretariat is not responsible for the content of the discussions or for the material provided during the break-out sessions.


Details about the High-Level IIA Conference

Wednesday, 24/10, 15:00 – 19:00, Room XXVI (26)


  • Hon. Mr. Jayantha Chandrasiri Jayasuriya, Attorney General, Sri Lanka
  • Ms. Maria Martin-Prat, Director, Directorate General for Trade, European Commission
  • Ms. Vilawan Mangaklatanakul, Director-General, Department of International Economic Affairs, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Thailand
  • Mr. Ronald Roosdorp, Director for International Economic Governance and Trade Policy, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Netherlands

Kick-off speakers:

  • Ms. Samira Sulejmanovic, Head, Unit for Bilateral Trade Relations, Ministry of Foreign Trade and Economic Relations, Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Mr. Vernon MacKay, Director, Investment Trade Policy Division, Trade Policy Branch, Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development, Canada
  • Mr. Jiang Chenghua, Deputy Director General, Department of Treaty and Law, Ministry of Commerce, China
  • Ms. Angela Dau-Pretorius, Deputy Director, Ministry of Industrialisation, Trade and SME Development, Namibia
  • Ms. Meg Kinnear, Secretary-General, International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes (ICSID)
  • Ms. Kate Gilmore, UN Deputy High Commissioner for Human Rights, Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR)
  • Mr. Shaun Donnelly, Vice President, Investment and Financial Services, United States Council for International Business (USCIB)
  • Ms. Nathalie Bernasconi, Executive Director, International Institute for Sustainable Development (IISD) Europe