25 Oct 2018
15:00 – 18:00


21st Century Global Investment Policy Making

A global policy environment that effectively mobilizes investment in sustainable development is more important than ever. In response to this challenge, more than 160 countries have used UNCTAD policy tools for formulating “new generation” investment policies. The Ministerial Roundtable will share experiences with modern, sustainable development-oriented investment policies and identify best practice based on UNCTAD policy tools: The Investment Policy Framework for Sustainable Development (2012, updated 2015); Action Plan for Investment in the SDGs (2014); Global Action Menu for Investment Facilitation (2016), and Reform Package for the Global Investment Policy Regime (2017).

Issues for the debate:

  • What are countries’ key priorities in national and international investment policymaking in the coming years?
  • What are their recent experiences and lessons learned in “new generation” investment policymaking”?
  • What approaches are countries adopting specifically to stimulate investment in SDG-relevant sectors?